Vibram Shoes Reviewed

5 Oct

I was reading an article in the New York Times today about the effectiveness of Vibram’s minimalist running shoes against preventing injuries and it got me thinking about my personal experience with the product.

I have been an avid runner for about 3 years now, and when I first began running I used traditional running shoes which I purchased with the help of an employee at RunTex. After just a few weeks  of consistently running in the new sneakers, I begin to experience extreme knee and shin pains.

I laid off running for a little while, looking for a solution to my knee pains. After a little research I heard about minimalist running and looked into Vibram shoes.

I was intrigued by the concept of minimalist running as it claims to be less taxing on the body, so I decided to purchase a pair for myself. When I first starting running in them I really enjoyed them because I was able to feel the ground below me as if I was running barefoot, it was a new experience. My first impression was that this was a good purchase.

However after a couple of weeks my knee pain returned and so I deemed that the Vibram shoes were not the answer to my runner’s knee.  They did improve my running form though, which has been a big plus.

I can’t recommend Vibram’s as a solution to running injuries but I  think they are great to run in despite this. It offers a new running experience and for that I would recommend you give it a shot and who know’s it may just affect your body differently than mine.

Photo Via Jodi Hilton (NY TIMES)

Leave a Reply

