Review Time Capsule:’From Dusk Till Dawn’

12 Oct

*Spoiler Alert

Flash back 15 years ago to the year 1996. I am a mischevious 6 year old boy curious to watch a film that’s way above my recommended age group. I resist the temptation to watch Space Jam and instead opt to see the much more intriguing  ‘From Dusk Till Dawn’. Why?  Because in 1994 at the tender age of 4 I decided to watch another film called ‘Pulp Fiction’. If you weren’t trapped in a closet you probably saw this film too.

The point being that I really enjoyed Pulp Fiction and while ‘From Dusk Till Dawn’ isn’t directed by Quentin Tarantino but rather local director Robert Rodriguez, it is Tarantino who wrote the film and even from a young age I could tell that the man had a way with words. So I said to my six your old self, Why not? Mind you it wasn’t easy to gain entrance to this film as I am six years old. Good thing my dad shaved his beard that morning, so I pick up the scraps of his facial hair and create my make-shift goatee. With confidence and swagger I go strolling up to the box office window and purchase my ticket.

Despite how bizarre it must have looked to see a 4’2  sparse goateed little person walking into that theater that day, I dear say nothing can compare to the absolutely ridiculous shift in plot that occurs half way through this film.

The film follows The eccentric and psycho Gecko Brother’s, Seth(George Clooney) and Richard(Quentin Tarantino) as they are on the run after fleeing the scene of a gruesome bank robbery in which several people were slain.

The Gecko’s post up at a motel for a little while before kidnapping a preacher(Harvey Keitel) and his children in order to obtain a recreational vehicle the family was using so that they can get to their final destination in Mexico where an arrangement was made for them to have a safe house.

Once They arrive at their destination in Mexico, the Titty Twister’s night club. It Signals a dramatic shift in the tone of the film. Suddenly it changes from a dramatic thriller, to a quirky horror film.

Vampires. Nothing describes the second half of this film better.  Quite literally the remainder of this film is about a group of humans struggling to survive against a hungry group of vampires.

While this is oddly entertaining for a little while, the film quickly loses my interest. The film comes off as unscripted for the last 40 minutes or so and for a six year old like myself thats saying a lot.

Please future self. Stop watching this film after 45 minutes, because to be quite honest I really did enjoy that first half.

Rating- 6.5/10

Trailer Below

Leave a comment